Singletrack Club
  • INFO

PLACES TO RIDE

see http://www.singletrack.org.nz/trails/

USEFUL LINKS

bikenz image

http://www.mountain-bike.co.nz/ – Tips and Tricks for biking in NZ

XC Riders on the Net

Kashi Leuchs – www.kashileuchs.com

club members blogs and sites

Oliver Whalley – http://mountainpedalernz.blogspot.co.nz/
Anton Cooper – http://antoncooper.co.nz
Logan Horn – http://loganxcracerhorn.blogspot.co.nz/

have your say and keep up with the play…
VORB (very popular NZ MTB site with forums, galleries and heaps heaps more) – www.vorb.org.nz
New Zealand MTB Web (infrequently used forums and other stuff) – www.mountainbike.co.nz
Singletrack World (a UK site with forums and all sorts of other stuff) – www.singletrackworld.com
CyclingNews.Com – mountainbike news: www.cyclingnews.com/mtb/

out riding…
Emergency ID Tags to wear while out riding – www.roadid.com
Land Transport NZ Cycle Safety rules – www.ltsa.govt.nz/factsheets/01.html
MTB Skills Clinics – www.mtbskillsclinics.co.nz
Helena’s MTB Skills – www.mtbskills.com
Canterbury MTB Club – www.sportsground.co.nz/canterburymtb
MBaction riding tips directory – www.mbaction.com/riding.asp

clothing and accessories…
Ground Effect’s MTB clothing – www.groundeffect.co.nz
Nightlightning riding lights – www.nightlightning.co.nz
Total Betty (women’s cycling clothing) – www.totalbetty.co.nz
Silversky – www.silversky.co.nz/
Bike Box Rental bikeboxrental.co.nz/

how to…
Park Tool’s excellent bike repair pages – www.parktool.com/repair/readhowto.asp?id=75
How to change and repair a tube – www.bicyclinglife.com
Ground Effect’s Tech Tips – www.groundeffect.co.nz/tech_tips/pedal.htm
MTB training tips – www.cptips.com/mtnbike.htm
Cycling nutrition info – www.cptips.com
New Zealand MTB Web tech forum – www.mountainbike.co.nz/forum/list.php?f=27
Time to go tubeless? – www.notubes.com
Singlespeed conversions – www.sheldonbrown.com/singlespeed.html

trailbuilding and access advice…
Mountainbike Australia www.mtba.asn.au/trails
IMBA www.imba.com

buying and selling…
Reviews of bikes and components – www.mtbreview.com
Torpedo7 – www.torpedo7.com
ProBikeKit – www.probikekit.com
TradeMe Cycling listings – www.trademe.co.nz
NZ MTB Web Buy & Sell forum – www.mountainbike.co.nz/forum/list.php?f=15
Reiker Cycles – www.reikercycles.co.nz

event websites…
Arrowsmith – www.ashburtononline.co.nz
Coastal Classic – www.coastalclassic.co.nz
Coppermine Epic – www.coppermine.co.nz
Day Night Thriller Taupo 12hr – www.daynightthriller.co.nz
Kaiwara Klassic – www.kaiwaraklassic.co.nz
Karapoti Classic – www.karapoti.co.nz
Mini-XC Series – www.singletrack.org.nz
Mt Isobel Challenge – www.hanmerevents.co.nz
Mt Somers Classic – www.mtsomersbikerace.co.nz
Naseby 12hr – http://mtbotago.ning.com
Nelson 12hr Enduro – www.nelsonmountainbikeclub.org.nz
National Champs – www.bikenz.org.nz
Pass to Pub – www.pass2pub.com
Rainbow Rage – www.rainbowrage.co.nz
Short Track Series – www.singletrack.org.nz
Timaru 12hr – www.timaru12hourmtb.co.nz/

canterbury bike shops…

Chain Reaction Cycles, Christchurch – www.chainreaction.co.nz
The Cyclery, Timaru – www.thecyclery.co.nz
Cycle Trading, Christchurch – www.cycletrading.co.nz
Cycleways, Christchurch – www.cycleways.co.nz
Cycleworkz, Christchurch – www.cycleworkz.co.nz
John Bull Cycles, Christchurch – www.johnbullcycles.co.nz
Papanui Cycles, Christchurch – www.papanuicycles.co.nz
Pushbikes, Christchurch & Rangiora – www.pushbikes.co.nz
Reiker Cycles, Timaru – www.reikercycles.co.nz
Scotty Browns, Christchurch – www.scottybrowns.com

event organisers, clubs, etc…
Auckland MTB Club site (heaps of useful articles) – www.aucklandmtb.co.nz
Bluedog Events (Rod & Jane, Christchurch) – www.bluedogevents.co.nz
Canterbury MTB Club – www.cmbc.nz/
Christchurch Singletrack Club – www.singletrack.org.nz
Hanmer Events – www.hanmerevents.co.nz
Marlborough MTB Club – www.marlboroughmtb.co.nz
McQueens Valley MTB Club – www.havenmtb.org.nz
Mountainbike New Zealand (NZ MTB national body) – www.bikenz.org.nz
Otago MTB Club – http://mtbotago.ning.com
Nelson MTB Club – www.nelsonmountainbikeclub.org.nz
Special Events Aoraki Ltd (Chris Thomas, Timaru) – www.specialevents.co.nz

info for event organisers…
SportCalc Timing Software – www.sportcalc.co.nz
Printrun Race Numbers –
www.printrun.co.nz
Enter Online – www.enteronline.co.nz
Sportscounsel advice on fundraising, risk management and sports law – www.sportscounsel.com

mountainbike navigation…
New Zealand Mountainbike Orienteering Website – www.mapsport.co.nz/mtbo/mtbo.html
MapWorld (GPS units, maps etc) – www.mapworld.co.nz
MapSport (NZ’s main sport navigation outlet) – www.mapsport.co.nz

If you spot a broken link or know of other sites we should have on here that may help other riders then please let us know.